Mountjoy Square is the only “true” Georgian square in Dublin, each of its sides being exactly 140 metres in length. No. 54 was erected as part of a pair with No. 53 in 1792 by master builder William Pemberton. The historic fabric of the square was significantly compromised in the twentieth century with one-third of its buildings demolished, making the survival of No. 54 all the more valuable. In fact, it is one of only three original houses to survive on the south side of the square. By the time the house was surveyed in 1999 there was severe deterioration to various elements of the structure, including the granite string courses, copings, and sills in addition to water ingress and rot. In 2000 a programme of works was initiated to address a number of these concerns. The Irish Georgian Society contributed grants totalling over IRP ₤7,000 between 2000-2005.
Brief description of project:
These funds assisted in restoring the Portland stone floor as well as the fine hallway plasterwork and gesso thread stairs, redecoration of the hall subsequent to joinery repairs, front elevation repairs and re-pointing in lime mortar, and repairs to the ceiling plasterwork and cornice.
No. 54 is a late Georgian end-terraced house of three bays and four storeys over a basement. The end gable has a bow which forms extremely interesting and unusual oval rooms inside. The exterior walls are composed of soft red clay brick, while a large fanlight and two sidelights set off by Ionic half-columns grace the main entrance. The interior boasts a wealth of intricate plaster and woodwork.