This charming lime-rendered building on the southern end of the Annaghmore Estate in Co. Sligo was built as a rural schoolhouse for the estate tenants’ children circa 1860. After its use as a schoolhouse and headmaster’s quarters became obsolete, the small structure served as a gate lodge and residence. The house fell into disrepair and was in a severe derelict state when acquired by the Irish Landmark Trust in 2004. Shortly thereafter a total restoration project was undertaken toward which the Irish Georgian Society granted €5,000.
Brief description of project
Works funded by this grant included: the installation of a damp proof course; the replacement of windows re-using original plate glass whenever possible; rebuilding of the Oriel window; much interior and exterior re-plastering; and the replacement of structurally unsound floors.
Upon project completion, the house was fitted out to a high standard and is operated by the Irish Landmark Trust for short term holiday-lets. Not only do holidaymakers enjoy the house’s period details and historic character, but the funds brought in by its operation also continue to fund further restoration projects. The Irish Georgian Society is delighted to have played a part in this worthwhile exercise.
The L-shaped, one-and-a-half storey house features a double height living room, moulded fascia, a pitched roof with gables, and an Oriel window. Tudor Revival details like diamond-paned fenestration also remain, along with some nineteenth century furnishings including the schoolhouse fireplace, coat hooks, and chalkboards.