Hamwood House was built circa 1764 by Charles Hamilton, agent for the Dukes of Leinster, whose family have continuously occupied the property since that date. It was erected as a mid-sized, lime-washed Palladian villa of unusual design. The curved passages which extend from either side of the main house terminate in small octagonal pavilions whose responding granite steps were added by the Duke of Leinster for his agent around the turn of the nineteenth century. An extra wing was added at this time where the original side entrance had existed and the beautiful sash windows were replaced in plate glass. However, by the early twenty-first century much of these timber window cases had deteriorated from water ingress and required significant attention.
Brief description of project:
Between 2002 and 2004 the Irish Georgian Society awarded €27,447 to the repair and restoration of ten of the damaged Gothic sash windows. The box ends and outer casings were repaired using best practice techniques and new timber sills were provided. All work was repainted appropriately.
Though still a private residence, the beautiful gardens at Hamwood House are open to the public.
Hamwood House is four bays wide and two storeys tall with a hipped roof. Rusticated quoins are to each corner and to the left and right of the house are single-storey extensions which are met with octagonal pavilions whose roofs are decorated with pineapple finials. The pavilion doors are surrounded with stone architraves on lintels. Curved steps lead to the front garden. The interior boasts extensive Georgian joinery and chimneypieces with Dublin-made brass grates dating to circa 1800.