The site of St. Peter’s Church has been used for worship since the foundation of the town of Drogheda in the late-twelfth century, though the present church was built between 1745-1750 by Hugh Darley. Its spire was added circa 1780 by Francis Johnston. A survey was carried out in 1999 and plans were put in place to repair damages made by the passage of time. However, these plans received a significant setback in 1999 when a malicious arson attack caused major damages to the interior. The most immediate of these were addressed and, after an additional survey in 2000, a new programme of works was designed toward which the Irish Georgian Society contributed over €31,800 in 2001-2002 which covered almost ten percent of the total restoration costs.
Brief description of project:
The tower and spire required a significant amount of re-pointing and stone repair due to water damage, and were also in need of lightning protection. With the help of the Irish Georgian’s Society’s funds these projects were completed with attention to best conservation practices.
St. Peter’s Church in Drogheda, Co. Louth has a two-storey, three-bay nave and a four-staged pinnacled tower topped by a needle spire. A hipped roof surmounts the structure which is covered in local slate as well as lead flashings. The walls are of ashlar limestone and there is a mix of six-over-six sash windows and nine-paned windows on the south elevation. The main entryway contains a fanlight over an architrave, frieze, and cornice door-surround within a rusticated breakfront. Two side entrances also boast pedimented doorways. The interior walls are rife with tracery windows, a gallery supported by Doric and Ionic columns, and Rococo plasterwork which stands in contrast to the reserved Palladian exterior.