Back to Education

Scholarship & The Irish Georgian Society

The Irish Georgian Society supports and promotes scholarly research in the field of architecture and the decorative arts through its journal, 'Irish Architectural & Decorative Studies' and through the annual Desmond Guinness Scholarship and the John Maben Gilmartin Award.

'Irish Architectural & Decorative Studies' the Journal of the Irish Georgian Society

'Irish Architectural and Decorative Studies', the annual journal of the Irish Georgian Society, has been published since 1998 and is the much-enhanced and expanded successor to the Bulletin of the Irish Georgian Society which was published from 1958 to 1997.

The journal reflects the Society's wide remit and is concerned not just with Georgian architecture, but embraces the entire spectrum of Ireland's post-medieval architecture and its special need for protection, interpretation, understanding and appreciation. The content of each volume of the journal is wide and varied, and testimony to the diversity and scholarship of the series. It is the only periodical in Ireland dedicated to publishing original research on architecture and the decorative arts and in doing so provides an important means for the dissemination of new scholarly information, nationally and internationally.

Scholars who wish to submit articles to be considered for publication should contact the editor of IADS, Dr. Finola O'Kane Crimmins, at the Society's office for details. Submissions are considered by a Journal Editorial Board whose membership is currently comprised of the following leading scholars: Dr. Christine Casey, Dr. Alison Fitzgerald, William Laffan (chair), David Griffin, Dr. Anna Moran, Dr. Edward McParland, Dr. Finola O'Kane Crimmins, Dr. Brendan Rooney.

Details about the Society's journals including articles published in them can be found in the Society's online shop.

The Desmond Guinness Scholarship

The Desmond Guinness Scholarship is awarded annually by the Irish Georgian Society to an applicant or applicants engaged in research on the visual arts of Ireland including the work of Irish architects, artists and craftsmen at home and abroad, 1600-1900. Preference is given to work based on original documentary research. The Scholarship is intended primarily for applicants who are not yet established at an advanced professional level in research or publication of the visual arts.

2024 Desmond Guinness Scholarship

Applications for the 2024 Desmond Guinness Scholarship will open in October.

If you have any further queries about the Desmond Guinness Scholarship please contact: Emmeline Henderson ( or by phoning 01 679 8675.

Past recipients of the Desmond Guinness Scholarship

  • 2023: Victoria McCarthy
  • 2022: Dee Maher Ring
  • 2021: DG Scholarship 2021 was jointly awarded to Deirdre Cullen and Siobhan Osgood
  • 2020: Priscilla Sonnier (Award) & Nele Lüttmann (Prize)
  • 2019: Cora McDonough (Award) & Dr Kathryn Milligan (Prize)
  • 2018: Molly Claire Gillett
  • 2017: Kristina Decker
  • 2016: Aisling Durkan
  • 2015: Bláithín Hurley
  • 2014: Zara Power
  • 2013: Caroline McGee
  • 2012: Melanie Hayes
  • 2010: Rosaleen Crushell (bursary)
  • 2009: Niamh Nic Ghabhann
  • 2008: Jessica Cunningham & Mairtin D'Alton
  • 2007: El Marie Nagel
  • 2006: Tony Hand
  • 2005: Conor Lucey
  • 2004: Alan Costello
  • 2003: Anna Moran
  • 2002: Frank Keohane
  • 2001: Charles Duggan
  • 2000: Aidan O'Boyle
  • 1999: Alison Fitzgerald
  • 1997: Sarah Foster
  • 1996: Nessa Roche

The John Maben Gilmartin Award

John Maben Gilmartin

The John Maiben Gilmartin Award, named for and endowed by the noted art historian, is a new prize granted annually by the Irish Georgian Society to support research in the history of Irish art, architectural and designed landscape, and of culture and society in Ireland of the long eighteenth century (broadly defined).

This award is open to post-doctoral researchers and early career scholars – that is, individuals who have been awarded their PhD degree within the previous seven years (please note students currently registered to post-graduate programmes are not eligible and are instead encouraged to apply for the Desmond Guinness Scholarship. Funds may be used to cover travel and accommodation costs for the purposes of research abroad or may be used to offset fees associated with academic publication, including for image rights and reproduction.

Applications for the 2024 John Maiben Gilmartin Award will open in March annually.

If you have any further queries about the John Maiben Gilmartin Award please contact: Emmeline Henderson ( or by phoning 01 679 8675.